An Early Stream of “Gnashing” from DISKORD’s ‘Degenerations’ LP (2021)PREMIERE

Today we have the honor of premiering the fifth preview track from Norwegian avant-garde technical death metal band DISKORD‘s third full-length album ‘Degenerations‘. “Gnashing” appears much later in the tracklist, giving us a deepest-cut heavy dose of their complex and kinetic brand of technical death marked by dissonance, cold atmosphere and heated mania. This track does a particularly fine job highlighting the ‘old school’ meets ‘new consciousness’ that the Oslo troupe have always brought to their well-respected, one-of-a-kind craft. Dissonant yet organic in its surreal stalk, fluid in approach of thousand-toothed angular swerves, ‘Degenerations’ is exactly the classic Diskord mutation we have hungered for these last seven years, it is one of the most impressive highlights of 2021 and, as a fan since the first full-length, I cannot wait for the full album! Scroll down to the full YouTube stream below and witness the dissolve of “Gnashing”. ‘Degenerations‘ will be available on Vinyl LP, CD, Cassette, and digital download this August 3rd through the good folks at Transcending Obscurity Records. Thanks goes to the band, their representation and Transcending Obscurity for the opportunity to share this fantastic song early!

Per the press release:

Diskord, 2021

Eccentric Norwegian death metal band Diskord have made quite a reputation for themselves over the years for playing some twisted, unhinged death metal that takes the best elements of old school death metal, dissonant death metal, technical death metal, even progressive and jazz music, and then some. Their death metal is wonderfully concocted, full of unpredictable twists and turns, while retaining ample causticity and drive throughout. There’s just so much happening at all times, it’s both mind-boggling and exhilarating as one attempts to decipher it all over the course of several listens – it’s impossible to fully wrap your head around this fascinating beast of an album at one go. Mixed and mastered by Colin Marston of Gorguts fame, the clarity of the myriad instrumentation that includes electric upright bass, theremin, cello among the regular ones is highlighted, with the album once again receiving a gloriously abstract painting by Sindre Foss Skancke. Seven years in the making, ‘Degenerations’, in addition to being a virtually perfect death metal album, is also one of the most exciting albums to come out in recent times, one that doesn’t conform to the standard template of death metal music and strives to create something altogether refreshing and unrestrained.

FFO: DemilichCarcassMorbus ChronVoidCeremony, early CadaverAtheistDisharmonic OrchestraCynicAtrocityPhlebotomizedCryptic ShiftDefect Designer.

Hans Jørgen – Drums and vocals
Dmitry (Defect Designer) – Guitars and vocals
Eyvind (DefectDesigner) – Bass guitar, electric upright bass, cello, theremin, synth, vocals

Artwork by Sindre Foss Skancke
Mixed and mastered by Colin Marston (Gorguts)

Track listing –
1. Loitering in the Portal
2. Bionic Tomb Eternal
3. Abnegations
4. The Endless Spiral
5. Dirigiste Radio Hit
6. Lone Survivor
7. Dragged for Coronation
8. Clawing at the Fabric of Space
9. Atoms Decay
10. Raging Berzerker in the Universe Rigid
11. Gnashing
12. Beyond the Grime

<strong>Help Support Grizzly Butts’ goals with a donation:</strong>

Please consider donating directly to site costs and project funding using PayPal.