An early stream of WOMBBATH’s “Save Your Last Breath to Scream” from ‘Tales of Madness’ (2020)PREMIERE

Today we have the honor of premiering an exclusive stream of a brand new song included on Swedish death metal quintet WOMBBATH‘s 35th Anniversary release, ‘Tales of Madness‘, which re-records a number of pieces from their early years including the ‘Brutal Mights’ (1991) demo, the ‘Several Shapes’ (1992) 7″ EP, the brutal ‘Lavatory’ (1994) EP as well as a handful of new tracks. The song on display today, “Save Your Last Breath to Scream“, is the true thrill-ride of the album, a crawling ‘n blasting piece showcasing the band’s enduring sensibility for extending and mangling Autopsy-sized grooves unto harrowing classic Swedish death metal attacks. This is a pretty righteous LP for a re-recording, a raw display of strength and grimy old school Swedish death metal style that is definitely worth checking out when it releases on December 18th, you can also pre-order in the meantime via Transcending Obscurity Records. Thanks goes to the band, their label and representation for a chance to feature this deep cut!

Per the press release:

Death metal legends Wombbath announce their 30th anniversary release which very few active bands can boast of. They’ve become a force to be reckoned with especially in recent years, after carving a reputation for themselves in the underground especially with their ‘Internal Caustic Torments’ full length in the early ’90s. Since then they’ve released three more full lengths, each one better received than the last. This here is a release that includes completely re-recorded songs from their early years as well as brand new material representing the band’s current sound. The songs have been mastered in a way that there’s no difference in sound quality all through and plays almost as a whole new album. It’s fascinating to mark the progress of the band over the course of three decades and this release is a testament to the timeless quality of their brand of hard-hitting and memorable Swedish death metal. This release will dispel any notions of their might and relevance, as they gear up to unleash a brand new one come next year on Transcending Obscurity again.

For fans of – Entombed, Dismember, Grave, Unleashed, Paganizer, Feral, Crawl, Gatecreeper, Live Burial, Revolting, Heads For The Dead.

Line up: 
Jonny Pettersson (Heads For The DeadGods Forsaken) – Vocals
Håkan Stuvemark (Pale King) – Guitars, vocals
Thomas Von Wachenfeldt – Guitars, violin, vocals
Jon Rudin (Just Before Dawn) – Drums
Matthew Davidson (Repulsive Vision) – Bass

Artwork by SV Bell.

<strong>Help Support Grizzly Butts’ goals with a donation:</strong>

Please consider donating directly to site costs and project funding using PayPal.